Five Urban Warriors included in Amajita training squad

Youth Admin
Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

No fewer than five Ajax Cape Town players have been included in the latest South African National U20 Men’s team; that will take part in the first phase training camp from 19 April to 3 May 2017.

The camp will involve a visit to Amsterdam, Netherlands as from the 24th of April.

After the first phase, Amajita will move base to Asia for their final preparations ahead of the FIFA U20 World Cup which will run from 20 May to 11 June 2017 in South Korea.

For the first phase of the camp, head Coach Thabo Senong has named a squad of 28 players that will report for camp on 19 April.

The team will then travel to Europe on 24 April until 3 May, as stipulated on the South African Football Association’s (SAFA) official website.

Amajita have been drawn in group D alongside European giants Italy, South America’s Uruguay and Japan.

“This will be our first phase of preparation and we are looking at a pool of players who have represented Amajita from the qualifiers of the AFCON. We are looking at those who participated in the AFCON and those that we have called up before but were not released by their clubs,” Senong is quoted as saying on

“We will be hosted by the Royal Dutch Football Association (KNVB) in Amsterdam, Netherlands from 24 April 2017 to 3 May and have scheduled a few practice matches against the likes of Feyenoord, Ajax Amsterdam and PEC Zwolle respectively.

“Our main focus in this camp is to get the players to work as a team. There will be more character building, confidence boosting and mental and physical strengthening rather than tactical approaches,” Senong concluded.

Full 28-man squad: (Ajax Cape Town players in bold)


Sanele Tshabalala (Bidvest Wits), Darren Johnson (Ajax Cape Town), Mondli Mpoto (SuperSport United), Khulekani Kubheka (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Malebogo Modise (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thendo Mukumela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Notha Ngcobo (Mamelodi Sundowns), Tercious Malepe (Orlando Pirates), Shane Saralina (Ajax Cape Town), Sandile Mthetwa (Orlando Pirates), Aghmat Ceres (Ajax Cape Town), Reeve Frosler (Bidvest Wits), Siyabonga Ngezana (Kaizer Chiefs).


Sipho Mbule (SuperSport United), Wiseman Meyiwa (Kaizer Chiefs), Nkosingiphile Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs), Sibongakonke Mbatha (Bidvest Wits), Kobamelo Kodisang (Platinum Stars), Grant Margeman (Ajax Cape Town), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United), Kabelo Seriba (FC Metta, Latvia), Masilakhe Pholongo (Ajax Cape Town), Luther Singh (Sporting Braga, Portugal)


Fagrie Lakay (SuperSport United), Itumeleng Shopang (Kaizer Chiefs), Phakamani Mahlambi (Bidvest Wits), Liam Jordan (Sporting Lisbon, Portugal), Thabo Cele (Benfica, Portugal)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × 1 =