Ajax, Chiefs play to 1-1 draw in Athlone

First Team AjaxCT
Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

Ajax Cape Town and Kaizer Chiefs played to an exciting 1-1 draw in an Absa Premiership clash at a packed Athlone Stadium on Saturday evening.

Nathan Paulse and Daniel Cardoso finding the back of the net in the second half as the two teams eventually settled for a point apiece, in what was a thrilling encounter.

Thabo Mosadi sparked the game into life in the eighth minute with the winger seeing his volley attempt straight at a grateful Itumeleng Khune in the Amakhosi goal.

The chance in turn set the Glamour Boys into motion with Siphiwe Tshabalala unlucky not to give Chiefs the lead four minutes later. The Chiefs ace had Jody February beaten, but not the frame of the goal.

Chances continued to come at either end of the park, but despite all the goalmouth action the game was goalless at the break.

That soon changed, and after Mosadi forced Khune into a great save in the 51st minute – Paulse hit the back of the net seven minutes later.

The burly forward nodding home from a Mosadi cross as he continued his rich scoring form – not only against Chiefs – but also against Khune, who he beat on Ajax way to lifting the 2015 MTN8 title.

Bantu Mzwakali was then unfortunate to see his header attempt rattle the crossbar in the 61st minute, as Ajax went within inches of doubling their lead.

Chiefs finally leveled matters following a relentless spell of pressure; Cardoso with the pivotal touch from a George Maluleka free-kick in the 79th minute of the match.

Ndiviwe Mdabuka had a chance to steal all three points for the Urban Warriors in the final minute of regulation time, but the midfielder could only succeed in guiding his shot wide of goal.

Ajax Cape Town (0) 1 (Paulse 58′)

Kaizer Chiefs (0) 1 (Cardoso 79′)

Ajax Cape Town: February; Lebusa, Lartey, Evans – Kabwe, Mdabuka – Mayambela (Nxumalo 87′), Mzwakali (Isaacs 66′), Mosadi – Paulse (Morris 76′)

Kaizer Chiefs: Khune; Masilela, Cardoso, Mathoho, Mphahlele – Katsande, Tshabalala, Maluleka, Molangoane, Lebese (Twala 59′) – Paez (Parker 79′)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fourteen + 15 =