Ajax Cape Town’s Nedbank Cup history – Part I, 2000-2009

First Team AjaxCT
Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

Ajax Cape Town will participate in the 2017 Nedbank Cup when they face Kwadukuza United in a last 32 clash this coming Saturday. We look back at the club’s history in the competition, starting with the 2000s.

The Urban Warriors were only formed in 1999, making their first participation in South Africa’s Nations Cup the 2000 Bob Save Super Bowl. Ajax made a good first impression by defeating African Wanderers 3-2 away from home on debut, but they exited in the next round at the hands of Free State Stars.

A first-round exit in 2001 was followed by a strong run to the final in 2003 (there was no competition played in 2002) when they overcame Dynamos, Kaizer Chiefs, Alexandra United and Jomo Cosmos. Sadly, Ajax’s first run at the Absa Cup trophy ended in defeat at the hands of local rivals Santos.

The Urban Warriors almost returned to the final in 2004 (they lost on penalties to Manning Rangers in the semifinals), while 2005 and 2006 brought early-round disappointments. However, in 2007 under the guidance of Muhsin Ertugral, Ajax claimed their only National Cup title to date.

Ajax won five straight matches outright and conceded zero goals in a perfect display in 2007, topped off by a 2-0 win over Mamelodi Sundowns (who were chasing a league and cup double after winning the PSL) in the final. Bryce Moon and Franklin Cale scored two of the most famous goals in the club’s history.

The 2008 Nedbank Cup saw Ajax stumble at the first hurdle against Kaizer Chiefs, while they ended the decade with a semifinal showing in the 2009 edition. After defeating three lower league teams in succession, Ajax were beaten by second-tier University of Pretoria in the semis.

Ajax Cape Town’s Nedbank Cup performances 2000-2009

2000 Bob Save Super Bowl

First round: African Wanderers 2-3 Ajax

Second round: Free State Stars 1-0 Ajax

2001 Bob Save Super Bowl

First round: Maritzburg City 1-0 Ajax

2002 – No National Cup competition played

2003 Absa Cup

First round: Ajax 3-1 Dynamos

Second round: Ajax 0-0 Chiefs – Ajax won 5-4 on penalties

Quarterfinals: Alexandra United 1-3 Ajax

Semifinals: Ajax 2-0 Jomo Cosmos

Final: Santos 2-0 Ajax

2004 Absa Cup

First round: Ajax 3-0 Dynamos

Second round: Kaizer Chiefs 0-1 Ajax

Quarterfinals: Ajax 1-1 Wits University – Ajax won 5-4 on penalties

Semifinals: Manning Rangers 1-1 Ajax – Rangers won 6-5 on penalties

2005 Absa Cup

First round: Moroka Swallows 3-1 Ajax

2006 Absa Cup

First round: Ajax 3-1 Silver Stars

Second round: Ajax 1-1 Tembisa Classic – Classic won 4-3 on penalties

2007 Absa Cup

First round: Fidentia Rangers 0-2 Ajax

Second round: Ajax 1-0 Wits University

Quarterfinals: Bloemfontein Celtic 0-1 Ajax

Semifinals: Ajax 1-0 Santos

Final: Mamelodi Sundowns 0-2 Ajax

2008 Nedbank Cup

First round: Kaizer Chiefs 2-0 Ajax

2009 Nedbank Cup

First round: Thistle Grove 0-3 Ajax

Second round: Nathi Lions 0-1 Ajax

Quarterfinals: Winners Park 3-3 Ajax – Ajax won 4-2 on penalties

Semifinals: Ajax 1-2 University of Pretoria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fifteen − 7 =