Ajax Cape Town v Kaizer Chiefs – Reliving their last meeting

First Team AjaxCT
Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

Ajax Cape Town will continue their 2016-17 Absa Premiership campaign with a home clash against Kaizer Chiefs at the Athlone Stadium on Saturday evening, kick-off is at 20h15 CAT.

The Urban Warriors and the Amakhosi have met once already this season, with the Soweto side hosting the match at their ‘home away from home’, Durban’s Moses Mabhida Stadium, back in mid-October.

There was little to choose between the teams in the first half, though Ajax should have claimed an early lead when Nathan Paulse capitalised on a mistake from centre-back Daniel Cardoso, only to poke a hurried effort wide of the mark.

After creating few chances in the first half, Chiefs improved dramatically after the break and claimed the lead three minutes into the second half. A short corner kick allowed George Maluleka to provide a great cross from the right and Lorenzo Gordinho easily headed home at the far post.

The Urban Warriors were not without chances to hit back: Tashreeq Morris put a snap shot wide with a quarter hour of regulation time remaining, while Prince Nxumalo shot wide when presented with a clear sight of goal in the dying minutes.

Chiefs finally wrapped up the points in injury time when George Lebese sprinted free on a counter, rounded the goalkeeper and finished coolly to make it 2-0. The Soweto giants’ evening was soured slightly by the late sending off of midfielder George Maluleka following a second yellow card.

Ajax v Chiefs, last meeting – match details

15 October 2016

Moses Mabhida Stadium

Kaizer Chiefs (0) 2 (Gordinho 48’, Lebese 90+4’)

Ajax Cape Town 0

Chiefs: Khune, Moleko, Gordinho, Cardoso, Khumalo, Katsande, Maluleka, Twala (Parker 74’), Ekstein (Tshabalala 64’), Lebese, Katsvairo (Macha 58’)

Ajax: Petersen, Mabaso, Coetzee, Chipeta, Lebusa, Isaacs, Graham, Mayambela (Morris 67’), Mosadi, Mokoena (Mzwakali 55’), Paulse (Nxumalo 84’)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eighteen − fourteen =